top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

Minimalist Environment

Living in a clean, uncluttered, minimalist environment allows us to live a simpler life. This aides in helping us stay on a whichever spiritual path we have chosen. People often shy away from this idea because they don't want to live in a cold stark environment. The idea that minimalism = cold and stark is a misconception. It can...if that is your style...but equate to that idea. Minimalism is about not how many things you have, but WHY you have it. How you FEEL about it. And how it ENRICHES your life (or not). So lets get started on some simple steps to get take in each area of your home to create a minimalism space that works for your style.





Bedroom:

keep it cozy and a place where you want to sped time in reviving yourself. Get rid of your “junk” on your dresser, shelves, and night stands. Choose simple yet cozy bedding. Only have wall decor that you love and keep it to a minimum…what you love most. Natural light and green in a plant will create a peaceful atmosphere if. If a green thumb isn't your thing, try putting some air plants. Use one shelf or two for carefully chosen items like books, photos, treasures.


Wardrobe:

Try out a capsule wardrobe for the fall. Pintrest has some great ideas on created a wardrobe of only a few items that gives you lots of options. I tried this last year and never went back!


Bathroom:

Get rid of empty bottles. Condense bottles that are half empty if they can be mixed. I recommend thinking of your bathroom as your own personal spa (as best as you can...if you have kids that might be a sticky point!) . Try storing items out of sight that you only use once in a while. Make up can cause a lot clutter as well. Throw away what you never use or don’t absolutely love. Going make up free will do away with the make up clutter all together! This isn't for anyone, but give it a try perhaps and see what happens!


Kitchen

Tupperware, pots and pans, dishes and cups are often things we have more than what we need of. Cut back the excess. Say no to too many knives…you only need a chefs knife, a paring knife, and a bread knife…and maybe a butter knife. Get rid of your extra kitchen gadgets as well. Pare down cookware. Go through your spice rack and get rid of old or unused spices. Getting rid of your microwave will free up a ton of counter space! I have yet to get rid of mine....but since reading that tip a while back


Living Room

The living room is the what I like to call the family cozy place. I love hanging out with my family watching movies or Netflix cozied on up in our living room. It is important that this room feels this way for my family. To do this I get rid of all the clutter that sometimes will accumulate on our coffee table. Plants and a simple blue and gray color palette helps the space feel peaceful. Storing items out of site also helps. Storage is critical in the family living room.


Desk area:

My desk area is one of the spaces in my home that I consider a sacred space. I keep it peaceful to be at. One of the ways I do this is by keeping things that I don't use often off my desk. Instead I put it in a chest of draws I have nearby. I also keep things off my desk that doesn't induce inspiration. For me, I need to be inspired when I work. Having a clear and inspiring space when working will encourage productivity and I advice you to give it a go and see what it can do for you!


Remember, its not about how little you have but why you have it. Create a space out of mindfulness, be aware of what is surrounding you and why you choose to be surrounded by it. That is the key. A minimalist home will look different person to person because it is a personal experience. Be vigilant in your choices of what to keep and what you give or toss away. Hold yourself accountable. Good luck on your journey!


Love and Light

Shannon

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'M BAAAAAACK! (reader discretion)

Hi all! I want to apologize for being absent for so long! I had decided to go back to school and finish my degree! On a less happy note, I recently was in the hospital for worsening depression and sui

bottom of page