top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

How to Use the Tarot

Last week I gave a quick history and hopefully dispelled a few few myths about the tarot. This week we are going to discuss how to use the cards, why they work, and how to use them!




First things first: What does a tarot deck consist of?

The tarot is a deck of 78 cards. 22 Major Arcana Cards, 40 Minor Arcana Cards, and 16 Court Cards. The Major Arcana references milestone events in one's development or life. They are referred to as The Fool's Journey. When laid out in order, and looked at through the eyes of a storyteller, you see a life’s journey before you. The Minor Arcana will look towards minor events in your life, or passing moments, things that are important but as monumental as events the Major Arcana would reference. The Court Cards represent qualities in yourself or those around you.


So, how do they work?

Every tarot reader has their own theory on how the tarot works, which makes sense because how the tarot works will vary person to person. Below are 3 ways I believe the tarot works in general with most people who I have spoken to.


  1. Symbolism: Most decks are illustrated with a wide range of traditional (and non traditional) symbols. The Rider-Waite deck is jammed packed with them on every card. Even minimalist decks will have symbolism on the cards. Cups, that hold water that symbolize emotion, trees bearing fruit for growth, or even full out scenes of people fighting to show conflict.

  2. The Collective Unconscious: The only way these symbols can work is because as a collective we agree unconsciously that one thing represents another. As a society we do this. Water = emotions in our mind weather we realize it or not. In the Rider-Waite deck you will see lots of symbols you might consciously have no idea what they mean, but unconsciously you just might so when you see them you get a “feeling".

  3. Intuition: And that what is that “feeling”? That, my friends, is your intuition. Often when I read the tarot I will hear a phrase in my head, or a word, or see a vision of someone...out of nowhere. It just pops there or I hear it separate from my active thoughts. I have been reading the tarot for over 10 years now so have developed this natural instinct to what a card means to me each day. I can get the 4 of cups today and then again a month from now, but each time it will have a slight difference in what it is telling me based on what I am going through that day or week. You will get a feel for this by using your intuition.

Ok, so where do I start?


Choose a deck: First you need a deck. I recommend that your first deck be the Rider-Waite deck. The images on the cards paint a very clear picture of what each card is representing on the most mundane basic level right up to the highest most spiritual level. This makes it easy to read and also easy to learn the foundation meanings of the cards when starting out. For example: the card below is the 8 of Swords. Any guess on what it it points to? You got it: being bound up, trapped, and helpless. If you were using a deck that just has 8 swords on the card it might be harder for you remember the meaning. However, ultimately you want a deck that feels great to use, so remember to follow your heart as well when picking a deck



Create your space: You want to make sure the space you are in, both externally and internally, is uncluttered. Externally this would mean cleaning up the area in which you plan on doing your reading. If you are going to sit in bed and do a spread, make your bed, freshen up your room, make it a peaceful place to be. Being able to feel peace and be relaxed during a reading is important because it will help you be more open to your inner voice. Your internal space is important as well. How are you feeling? Are your thoughts racing? Before you start shuffling the cards, before you even start formulating the question you have, sit still and clear your energy. Settle your mind. Calm your emotions the best you can. I always meditate before do a reading. Even if it's just a 2 min meditation to calm my thoughts. That stillness will provide clarity in thought and will go a long way.


Phrase your question: I can not express enough how important it is to approach the tarot with the right kind of question. When I bought my first deck it was because I wanted to know what my future would be. I was in a very low point in my life and was desperate to know when it would end. I didn’t think to ask questions that would result in personal growth, change my perspective, or gain greater knowledge of my situation. I asked: “will my bills be paid?” “am I going to get this new apartment?” “what is so--and-so thinking about me right now” and “does my boss hate me”. It wasn’t until I studied the tarot more AND went through a growth period emotionally did I realize that this was all wrong. All these questions come from a place of fear. It is OK to be afraid, but if you are in a situation that makes you fearful and you are using the tarot to gain insight to this situation, phase your questions from a place of courage. It is my belief that all questions should be geared to gain insight that will help you find the answers, not to get the answers from the cards themselves. Some examples of ways you can phrase your questions are:


1:What is the likely outcome if I continue down this path?

2: What should I be prepared to face?

3: How do I change the course I am on?

4: What am I supposed to learn from this experience?

5: What skills do I already have that I can use to grow in this?


This all being said, sometimes you don’t even need a question! Each morning I pull a card. I don’t think about a question or situation when I do this. I simple focus on the peace I developed during my meditation and draw a card. I carry that card with me all day to remind me of the message my intuition took from it. When I do find myself using the tarot to help with a situation or a choice I need to make, I will often think about the choice itself or the situation from an objective standpoint then draw the cards. I have found this method to work better for me than asking a question. I find it gives me more “space”. The key is to find what works for you!


Next week we will be discussing tarot spreads! How to read them, common ones that are used, and how to make your own.


Love and Light


Shannon

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'M BAAAAAACK! (reader discretion)

Hi all! I want to apologize for being absent for so long! I had decided to go back to school and finish my degree! On a less happy note, I recently was in the hospital for worsening depression and sui

bottom of page