top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

How to Protect Your Emotional Energy







On any path in life, and especially the spiritual path, managing one's energy should take priority. If it doesn't one might find themselves giving up, falling into depression, or just plain not getting what you want out of your walk in life. Managing energy means different things to different people. Some people will jump to physical energy, some to mental, some to it means emotional. They are all connected, however your emotional energy is the one people over look the most. As a society we turn a blind eye to our emotional energy levels until we are in a crisis for ignoring them too long. Or until they get sick or feel constantly tired and can't complete tasks.


In this post we will be focusing more on managing your emotional energy in regards to transferring or collecting energy form other other people. If this is a concept that you are not familiar with, you can hear this concept most often when someone will say: "I feel so much love and joy in this home" or "There is so much tension in the air i can feel it". For some people that this is where it ends for them, they can "feel" out a space with out literally absorbing it. Once they leave and move that tends to be it. But then there are people who gather energy from all the people and places they encounter through out the day. They find themselves feeling suddenly depressed or anxious, or even hyper and joyous. If you suddenly feel joyous that isn't so bad, but when you are someone who knows that joy isn't yours it can feel a little weird. And no one wants to feel a deep sadness that isn't theirs. This ability is called empathy. And the collection of other energy that weighs an emphatic person down is called psychic garbage.


This ability, which I tend to find everyone has but to different degrees, is a blessing and a curse. It is a blessing because you can heal those around you....those that you love or even strangers at the store that you choose to smile at because you can "just tell that they are in pain". It is a true gift. As someone who is sensitive to this myself I do understand this, however it took me years to learn to manage it in such a way that it didn't destroy me. If you are constantly knowing and/or absorbing all the emotional energy around you wherever you go you will end up having a break down. Even joyous energy in abundance (especially when not yours) can lead to emotional exhaustion. So what's a person to do when they are empathetic and sensitive to emotional energy in the environment?


Protect Yourself


I have a habit of putting up a massive wall around myself that keeps people from entering my life when they get to close. I picture it as a mid evil castle where if the enemy gets too close hot tar is dumped on them from above or arrows dance their way into the hearts of those I want to protect myself from. This is super dramatic, but I don't think I am alone in this. Often I also put up a front when i am not in the mood to listen to people's emotions that says: "I am not a nice person, go away". Though I must have Therapist written on my forehead (or Mom even) because I always...even with strangers....get people venting to me left and right. I am not telling you these things because I am suggesting you do them. I am telling you these things because they are not the best way to protect yourself, but it seems to be a natural way for our minds to put up self defense and tends to happen without warning if we are not mindful of them. So what are some good healthy ways to protect our energy from the world around us?


1. Boundaries. This is what our minds are doing when we build castles and pretend that we are mean prickly people who you shouldn't be telling all your problems to, but there are better ways to set up boundaries.

Learn to say no. Often those who are empaths find themselves as healers or the care taker of friends and family. They also hate conflict and want to keep the peace. This means being there for people when they need us even if it is not good for us to do so. We are so in tune with other's emotions that the thought of upsetting by saying no to filling their needs someone causes fear...or pain in ourselves. Accepting that saying no is OK, that you don't need to always be there to take care of someone (or need help in sharing the burden of doing so), is the first step in putting up a healthy boundaries. If you know that you will be emotionally and drained, spiritually exhausted, and around to many high emotions at that family party...don't go. Have a small party with those who are closest too instead. Ask for help if you are the soul care taker of a friend or family member. Express your own needs to people and that you need time to fill them.


Putting yourself first is an other huge boundary to establish....like now. Right now. Write a list of your unmet needs. As soon as you have that list start figuring out how to get them met asap. You can't be there for those you love, show up at your best for them, if you are ragged and overwhelmed, and weight down with everyone else's physic garbage.


Be picky about who you surround yourself with and the environment you spend the most time in. Don't choose to be surrounded by toxic energy. If a person or a place seems to always be too intent for you, limit your time spent with that person or time in that space.

hem.


2. Crystals: If you a person who believes in the protective power of crystals and stones, don't be afraid to take them with you. I bring mine to work. I think some people thought it was weird at first, but I knew that it would help me make it through my day of being constantly surrounded by people who were frustrated and stressed (including myself). Onyx and obsidian are great for absorbing the negative energies in the environment. Also crystal quartz will neutralize the energy in its intimidate area. Find a stone or crystal that you love and carry it with you as a protection stone


3. Visualizations: Before you step out and expose yourself to who knows what in the world, try a mediation where you visualize a shield of sorts around yourself. All unwanted energy will deflect off it. It's not unlike a suit of armor and will allow you to observe the energy by feeling it still but not have it stick with you and change your own.


4. And last but not least....send it back. When you have taken the time to understand and know what your own energy feels like you will know when something isn't yours. I use to think any random emotion wasn't mine but them I realized I am just full of random emotions that are in fact mine and even if I can't find the source right away done'st mean it isn't. So I took the time to really become intimate with my own "stuff". So now when I feel something I know not just if its mine or not...but can usually find who it came from by looking around and I send that energy back. This seems mean if that is sad energy. I get it, but it isn't yours to feel. If you find yourself needing to send unpleasant energy back to it's source, try sending some of your own light with it.


Take care out there my friends. Don't put up walls and block everyone out due to the fear of outside pain. Doing this blocks out the beauty of other people as well. Instead take the tips from this article and protect your spirit while still basking in the light and beauty of those around you. Your spiritual path will be better for it.


Love and Light


Shannon

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'M BAAAAAACK! (reader discretion)

Hi all! I want to apologize for being absent for so long! I had decided to go back to school and finish my degree! On a less happy note, I recently was in the hospital for worsening depression and sui

bottom of page