top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

How I knew I was a witch

Updated: Aug 1, 2018

Hello All! And to newcomers, Merry meet!

So You want to be a witch?

This is a question I have asked myself a lot, then I gently remind myself that “ you always were a witch, it just took a while to realize it.”

However looking back, witchcraft has always peaked my interest. Like most things in my life, I got interested by watching a tv show, It was charmed, and I still love that show. I was about 11 years old when I started watching the show and immediately created my first “book of shadows” and I started hoarding anything I thought was going to help me. I decided that the best place for me to practice was not in my bedroom, but in the bathroom adjacent to my room. When my mom found everything she kind of freaked out. And by kind of, I mean she did… a lot. She thought that witchcraft and the occult were actual cults. I mean I get it…. But come on….

A few years later when I was in high school, I was doing a project on witchcraft. Again peaking my interest. I was drawn to it, but it felt like I was a bad person for being drawn to it. So, once again, I started my book of shadows. This was really just a folder with some really shitty printed off “spells” that I had gotten off of freespells.com and witchcraftforfree.com. Because I was inexperienced I went to the inter webs and googled witchcraft spells and printed them off not knowing anything. My advice- write your own damn spells. They will have your intention sewn right into them. freespells.com is NOT your friend. -end rant-

When I compiled my random printed off spells, I would just read them in my head while sitting in my room alone. I had no idea about circle casting and the preparation that goes in with spells and rituals.

Quite some time has passed since this and I have grown a lot in the craft. I practice solitarily mostly, I have read a boat load of books about the craft and still I do not know everything. Being a witch is not about knowing everything, it is about continuously growing within the craft.

I have always felt this pull towards witchcraft. However, I don’t really tell a lot of people because to be honest there is still a negative connotation with being a witch. I am getting better at accepting this and just letting the negativity roll away. I am starting to tell more people that I am a witch and there is nothing you can do about it. I am not evil, I do not sacrifice people or animals to satan. I do not believe in the christian devil. I believe in the gods and goddesses. I believe that words carry power. I believe that we are all interconnected in a way that is much larger than ourselves. I believe in nature. I believe that crystals and tea have the power to heal. I believe that everyone has psychic abilities that just need to be tapped into to bring them to light. I believe in the power of dreams. I believe in the power of tarot cards. I even consider my cat (Wednesday) to be my familiar. She’s adorable and is my sidekick. She’s right there with me whether I’m watching tv or performing a ritual. I’m sure you are wondering “ But for real dude, how do you KNOW?”. To be honest my dudes, I hadn’t met her before and my coworker sent me her picture since she knew I was looking for a cat and I went that day to adopt her. She had been in the shelter for a while. I’m guessing its because she was 1.5 years and she is a black cat. I just knew that she belonged with me. I don’t know how else to describe it.

You don’t find your familiars, your familiars find you.

Long story short (although it wasn’t really short was it?) for me I didn’t just become a witch, I always have been one. It just took me a while to figure it out.

If you have any stories about your journeys into the craft feel free to share! I would love to hear from you!

Blessed be!

K


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'M BAAAAAACK! (reader discretion)

Hi all! I want to apologize for being absent for so long! I had decided to go back to school and finish my degree! On a less happy note, I recently was in the hospital for worsening depression and sui

bottom of page